Here’s to loving Myself

A few days ago I wrote about enjoying the sparkly bits of me and biggifying myself so that others could enjoy the benefits of that!

Sounds a little strange no? No. Most definitely not. (You can read about it here)

You may be familiar with the concept from Marianne Williamson’s famous poem:

 

“Our Greatest Fear

 

It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us

 Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

 Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

 It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous,
talented and fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.

There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of
God that is within us.

It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,
we unconsciously give other people
permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear,
Our presence automatically liberates others.”

—Marianne Williamson
 

I’ve also been reading about it over at SARK’s website, where she’s written a journal entry entitled “Yes to more Self Love to you.”

I mean – how can you resist?

My question to myself today then has been: how can I show myself more love?

I have some ideas:

  • I can tell myself on a far more regular basis that I’m fantabulous (and leave off the “just as I am” because that seems to indicate that there’s still a lack somehow). I can stop and say, “Look! Just look at you! You’re lovely and just full of awesomesauce. It’s no wonder you have such fantastic people in your life, because birds of a feather and all that.)
  • Consideration. I give the people I love umpteen amounts of consideration. I can ask myself everyday, just once (because that’s an increase), if there’s anything I would like today.
  • When it’s someone I love’s birthday, if I have the opportunity, I love to spoil them rotten to show them I love them, think about them and enjoy having them in my life. Sometimes that’s something tiny that they could really appreciate, sometimes it’s a matter of paying close attention to stuff said and thinking Aha! I can provide that and sometimes it’s giving them a day of luxury and indulgence. I could pick a day once a year, where for that day, I get to do whatever I want and I’m happy to let myself.

I think there could be so many more ways to truly, deeply communicate self love to ourselves, but I haven’t thought of them just yet.

I have an inkling that demonstrating self love to ourselves is about meeting our needs and that means slowing down and really listening to what those needs are.

What are your ideas for/on self love? I would love to hear about them in the comments – the more the merrier I say!


Leave a Reply

