Breakthrough

Yesterday I fell off my bike.

Practically a whole body graze.

It’s what happens when you go over your handlebars and into a pile of rocks and dirt.

I got up laughing. A bit shaky but laughing.

I’m not into self harm (promise!).

It’s the first time I’ve fallen off my bike since the episode with the Brechfa Bears.

Oh it’s a funny little cartoon for sure. I had to laugh about it. Had. To.

Because otherwise I would have cried and cried and cried.

I got up from that fall feeling shocked, angry and terrified.

I tried to pretend I wasn’t and since then I’ve been petrified of falling off my bike.

Especially since I have a new, shiny, beautiful, very expensive bike.

So I’ve just not been riding. Wondering why and then avoiding it.

Until yesterday, when I fell off for the first time since the Brechfa Bears. I got up laughing with relief because finally I have fallen off and I have lived to tell the tale.

Now I can’t wait till my next ride and the relief is enormous, because I was beginning to think there was something wrong with me because I no longer wanted to ride my bike.

Turns out it was just a little bit of perfectionism. It might not be art supplies, but the concept is the same.

4 Responses

  1. I hate hate hate falling off my bike. I do it regularly too. You’d think a girl would learn.

    Good job on taking care of that bear.

    Funny, as in holy crap, not as in ha ha ha , stuff.

  2. @Julianna – Me too! Well I did – last summer was spent as a full spectrum of blues, greens and purples with grazes! Most of them were fun (or at least obtained whilst having vast amounts of fun, and that helps) but some of them- especially the last one (brechfa bear) were not.

    The full body graze that I sport today – blaming it on a mountain lion. My story is that it is now a rug. 😀

  3. My record is 5 times in half an hour when I was at university and it was icy as hell. Number 5 was just inside the entrance of my college, in front of about fifty odd people.

    Brilliant.

    You’d think I’d have learnt after the first time, but no. A wonderful combination of being late, ice and sheer bloody mindedness. And raging stupidity.

    Glad you’re ok 🙂

  4. @Emma – !!!! 5 times?! Well that is a bloody fantastic achievement if I say so myself.

    Oh the things we do to ourselves!

Leave a Reply

